cyfansoddwyr cymru - composers of wales
aelodau - members
• rhestr aelodau
• list of members

• cysylltwch â ni
• contact us
ymaelodi - joining
• manteision ymaelodi
• benefits of membership

• ceisiwch am aelodaeth
• apply for membership

• cysylltwch â ni
• contact us
cylchlythyr - newsletter
• cylchlythyr
• newsletter

• cysylltwch â ni
• contact us
dolenni - links
• dolenni allanol
• external links

• cysylltwch â ni
• contact us
hysbysebion - notices
• digwyddiadur
• diary of events
• hysbysiadau
• notices
• cysylltwch â ni
• contact us
mewnol - internal
• Mewngofnodi
• Log in

Luke Starkey
Recent works include compositions for a wide range of forces: 'Adagio for Strings'(2010), 'Matryoshka' for piano quintet (2010), 'Three Little Pigs' for guitar and flute (2010)and 'A Box of Frogs' for symphony orchestra (2010), this piece is also to be workshopped by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales on 17th February 2011 at Hoddinott Hall.

Luke Starkey studied composition at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, his tutors including amongst others, Peter Reynolds and Tim Raymond. During his studies, his works were performed by ensembles such as the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama Symphony Orchestra, the Millennium Ensemble, and the Arditti Quartet. He was also winner of the Mervyn Burtch Composition Prize in 2009. Luke graduated from the RWCMD in July 2010.

Luke is currently composing for various soloists and ensembles, including an extensive duo for baroque violin and harpsichord, and a string quartet. Based in Cardiff, he is actively organising contemporary music events in and around the city, including venues such as tactileBosch Art Studios and Dempsey’s Jazz Club.